My New Walking Song By VaShawn Mitchell

I love love love this song. Hope you do too.

It’s official. My new walking song is Vashawn Mitchell’s ‘Nobody Greater’. It became my favorite a little over a week ago. Usually I walk with my little baby radio tuned to the Tom Joyner Morning Show (TJMS). The song that adds pep to my step and makes me forget I’m walking becomes my walking song. It’s as simple as that. Last month my walking song was John Legend’s ‘Tonight (Best You Ever Had)’. Believe it. Something about the music invigorated my soul.

Still, unlike ‘Nobody Greater’, Legend’s ‘Tonight…’ didn’t move me to throw my hands up in the air and dance my way up and down asphalt hills. Or trot on the gravel trails singing, “I looked all around, couldn’t find nobody, nobody greater than you,” at the top of my lungs. A jogger gave me the thumbs up. Guess he heard me as he headed my way. I waved with both hands and double-timed it down the trail, still singing loud enough to make the water fowl hasten their step.

Two songs could never be more different. I guess ‘Nobody Greater’ is spiritual, whereas ‘Tonight (Best You Ever Had) is secular, even Marvin Gayish if you will. Additionally, ‘Nobody Greater’ for whatever reason, makes me think about songs by Tracy Chapman, Bob Marley, Mary Mary, and Kirk Franklin all rolled into one.  There’s another song that’s a runner up to ‘Nobody Greater’ but I won’t get into it right now. I’ll just say it has a hint of Bluegrass flavoring.

I confess to an eclectic taste in music and nowhere near a connoisseur.  A song either moves me or it doesn’t. When I’m driving I listen to music. When I’m walking I listen to music. First thing in the morning I listen to music. When I’m reading whether it’s a book, newspaper, magazine, or some internet article, music has no place. I use music the way some men use women and vice-versa. I can’t read while I’m walking or driving, so I use music to get by. Does that make me a bad person – kidding. Right now ‘Nobody Greater’ is my favorite song to walk to.  Below are the lyrics to ‘Nobody Greater’. Try singing along. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do right now.

Lyrics to Nobody Greater:

 [Verse 1:]

I climbed up to the highest mountain

I looked all around, couldn’t find nobody

Went down into the deepest valley

Looked all around down there, couldn’t find nobody

I went across the deep blue sea

Couldn’t find one to compare… to your grace, your love, your mercy

Nobody greater… nobody greater than you

[Chorus]

Searched all over… couldn’t find nobody

I looked high and low… still couldn’t find nobody

Nobody greater… nobody greater no… nobody greater than you

[Verse 2:]

Nobody can heal… like you can

Oh most holy one you are the Great I Am

Awesome in all your ways and mighty is your hand

You are He who carried out redemption’s plan

You are He who carried out redemption’s plan

 [Chorus: x2]

Searched all over… couldn’t find nobody

I looked high and low… still couldn’t find nobody

Nobody greater… nobody greater… nobody greater than you

 Nobody greater… nobody greater… nobody greater than you [repeat, adlib and fade]

2 responses to “My New Walking Song By VaShawn Mitchell

  1. Very good blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Appreciate it!

  2. I suggest starting out with a free platform like Blogger or WordPress. I recommend WordPress. IMHO it’s a lot more user-friendly and they try to help market your blog. Insofar as writing, I suggest you write what you feel as often as possible. Follow bloggers that you like and read as though your life depends on it. Share info that may be helpful to others. Giving and sharing is the key, especially when you’re starting out. For more info, feel free to contact me at: Graphicsduo2@gmail.com

Leave a comment