Black Beans Brownies Are Oh So Good

Ummmm Good…

A year ago if someone had said black beans make brownies so delicious they’ll make you want to smack your mama, I wouldn’t have believed it for a second. But about three months ago a supermarket cashier asked if I liked brownies. She then proceeded to tell me next time I made them to use black beans instead of flour. The very thought of making something that disgusting would have made me gag. That was before my son introduced me to kale chips, meatless salads, and smoothies loaded with kale and spinach.

These days after downing such fare I say like the boy Oliver, “Please sir, can I have some more?” What a difference a year makes. Gone is the so-called picky eater and close-minded food snob who once thought in order for food to taste good it had to be saturated with sugar, butter, and salt. Now I realize being a good cook entails thinking creatively, thinking outside the box. Like instead of drilling for oil, investing in alternative fuel sources.

So after months of toying with the idea of making black beans brownies I decided to go ahead and give it a shot. Shoot, I had all but the black beans, walnuts and semi-sweet chocolate chips so why not. I don’t have a food processor but do have a high-powered blender. Most of the black beans brownies recipes on the Internet said a blender would do the trick. Mind you I was so absolutely starved for something nasty and sinfully sweet a decadent dessert sighting of any sort made me weak at the knees.

Prep time which included opening the can of beans, rinsing them off, and putting inside the blender along with all but the chocolate chips and walnuts took less than 20 minutes. If I’d had a food processor, it probably wouldn’t even have taken that long. With a blender you have to keep stirring and pushing stuff down to make sure those beans are pulverized. You want it to pour like smooth black silk into that sprayed glass baking dish.

Overall, the easiest dessert I have ever made. When I sliced the brownie and took a bite, the walnuts and chocolate chips floating on top tasted like a delectable nutty frosting.  Now if that isn’t creative I don’t know what is. Which leads me to believe trying different foods can be surprisingly rewarding. First the kale chips, now black beans brownies. Who knows what my next food adventure will be.

Here is the fudgy black beans recipe I found on the internet:

Description:

Sweet and chewy gluten-free brownies made with black beans. I tweaked the recipe to suit my taste buds. If you add more cocoa and beans you might want to add more sugar, another egg, more vanilla, etc. You get the idea. The results were still ummmm good.

Ingredients:

1 large can and 1 cup rinsed and drained black beans

4 eggs

1/2 cup melted butter (I mixed Canola oil with about three tablespoons of butter)

1/2 cup cocoa powder

3 teaspoons vanilla extract (added an extra teaspoon of vanilla)

1 cup sugar (added a 1/4 cup of sugar)

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup finely chopped walnuts

Instructions:

1.    Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. In a food processor bowl or blender, combine the black beans, eggs, melted butter and Canola oil, cocoa powder, vanilla, and sugar. Stir with a large spoon then blend until smooth (or as smooth as possible).

2.    Grease a glass 8 x 11 inch baking dish. Pour the batter into the greased dish. Sprinkle chocolate chips and nuts (if using) over the top and push them down into the batter with a spatula. Don’t over do it.  They will sink some while the brownies bake.

3.    Bake at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes, until brownies are set in the middle. Watch the edges for excess browning if you’re not sure they’re done.

Cool and then chill before serving! Store in fridge.

Munching on these only sinfully tasting brownies while reading author E. L. James’ ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ was so Ummmm good.

5 responses to “Black Beans Brownies Are Oh So Good

  1. I am always on the hint for healthy, fun recipes and this sounds right up my street!

    I used to be really picky too but recently anything different sounds amazing!

  2. I heard about a brownie receipe from Dr. OZ using black beans. I am going to try this receipe. I will let you know, if I like it.

Leave a Reply

