BEWARE! SCAMS, SCAMS AND MORE SCAMS

SCAMS, SCAMS AND MORE SCAMS

Blacked out my address. Otherwise this looks really legit.

As of this writing there are so many scams going on I won’t even attempt to put a number on them. Nor will I break out some bulleted list on the latest and greatest scams. Why? Because I wouldn’t want you alerting for a particular scam only to be broadsided by one not noted on my nice, neat little list. I know what I’m talking about. It just happened to me.

Case in point, I kept getting emails from folks on my contact list directing me to someone claiming to be a work-at-home mom. She goes by the name Amy Livingston and supposedly makes thousands a month from home. This aroused my curiosity so I decided to do a bit of snooping. Turns out it was a big ol’ scam. Ticked off because I felt it exploited legitimate mothers working at home I decided to alert others.

I was also scared the hackers or ‘phishers’ had gained access or could gain access to sensitive financial information through our email accounts. Paranoid and feeling authorities wouldn’t be much help, I decided the best way to fight back was to let others know so they could be on guard against this so-called ‘stay-at-home-mom’ scam.

Shortly after putting stay-at-home-mom scam in my rearview mirror I heard about con artists scamming elderly folks out of their hard-earned money, emptying not only their bank accounts but family members’ who had to clean up the mess. Even though it didn’t affect me personally, the thought of mentally and physically ailing older people being preyed upon again made me post an alert. No sooner did I click ‘publish’ a couple of news programs mentioned the ‘grandparents’ and ‘stuck in jail overseas scams. Knowing some of the big news organizations like CBS and ABC also had these scams on their radar gave me a little satisfaction.

Still there’s only so much I or anybody else can do against a multitude of scams. There just isn’t enough time in the day. Like Forrest Gump said, “Sometimes, I guess there just aren’t enough rocks.”  With millions unemployed, underemployed, and just clinging to a thread of hope, scammers are counting on you being gullible. When they make you an offer that seems too good to be true, remember, it usually is.

MONEY RAIN DOWN ON ME! 

Remember everything that glitters isn’t gold

Ironically I found this USPS Priority Mail envelope in my mailbox today. Inside was a postal money order for $975.00 from someone claiming to be Tom A. Lee. Take a long hard look at it. I did. Then I excursioned into cyberspace and sure enough it’s just another scam. It’s called, ‘Money Order’ scam or maybe even ‘Money Order Fraud’.  Really though the name of the scam is not important. I didn’t recognize the name of the sender, nor had I done anything in recent memory to warrant $975.00.  Say it with me. IF SOMETHING SEEMS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, IT USUALLY IS.

Tomorrow I will return all to the nearest post office. Then I will do whatever else is necessary to get as far away from this scam as possible. Please don’t take the money order to your bank. While it looks legit it is fake as a $2 bill. Not even sure how the scammers make money off this one. If you have been personally impacted by this one, I really would like to know how it works.

4 responses to “BEWARE! SCAMS, SCAMS AND MORE SCAMS

  1. Thanks. The site is WordPress-provided. It’s perfect for my need at this time. If you want to know more I would be more than happy to help. WordPress, however, is very user-friendly.

  2. I received one in the mail for $1000 totally blank. I am sure that it is fake the letter wanted me to cash it and send so much to some guy I don’t know. Red flags!!! But being deep in debt and Christmas coming I want to cash it so bad!!! I’m scared to even ask someone if it’s fake. It’s so so hard not to try to do something with a blank legitimate looking money order.

Leave a Reply

