Nothing like family

THERE IS NOTHING LIKE FAMILY. March 31, my son, Zeke, and I traveled from Greensboro to Greenville, NC to spend time with family. We came together to celebrate our mother’s 80th birthday. What a blessing! Our mother is the sun and we revolve around her, ever thankful for her wondrous light.

My oldest sister was there. I hadn’t seen her in several years. And I must say she never seems to age. I don’t even know her exact age. All I know is that she’s retired and she jumped on a plane and flew from NY all by herself. She has been my inspiration ever since she left our small hometown in Eastern NC and moved to NY many many moons ago.

I also have three other sisters, all of whom are older than me. They are no less inspiring. I especially love the way they look out for our mother. Even though none of us could take our mother in after a stroke left her unable to walk or care for herself, they visit her often in the assisted living facility. Sometime they treat her as though she’s a living doll, doing her hair, painting her nails, dressing her, and fawning over her while mom smiles her appreciation. Although a woman of few words, our mom has the most beautiful smile. Her smile says how grateful she is to have such wonderful, caring daughters.

I also have two wonderful brothers. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see my younger brother. My middle brother was there, and my niece, his lovely hardworking daughter dropped by with her cute little girl. My brother makes the best homemade pork skins. I got several bags and ate myself sick.

Suffice it to say I had a wonderful time there among my sisters, brother, neices, grandneices and nephews. There is nothing in the world like being with family. Although, in all honesty, I don’t visit the way I should. I’m going to do better. Promise.

Leave a Reply

